Who We Are

Changing the Story

Our “why” at Prairieaction Foundation is rooted in the difficult reality that thousands of Canadians face everyday. We exist for those who have ever experienced fear, uncertainty or harm in their homes or communities. Our work is for those who have believed that no one cared or that nothing is being done, or who feel that there was no way out of an abusive situation. Our very existence is because we believe that together we can take action and break the cycle of abuse and violence for those who experience it, and ultimately change this narrative.

For more than 20 years, the Prairieaction Foundation has been working to change the story of violence and abuse in the Canadian prairies. Through cooperative relationships and collegial partnerships, we’ve engaged in healthy debate and respectful controversy. We have funded research that is responsive to diverse community needs, seeking results in culturally-appropriate solutions, and promoting change. We have embraced open communication with integrity and accountability.

We believe that education and information lead to empowerment, and we will continue working towards finding solutions that build a future that is free of violence and abuse.

Lisa Broda, Ph.D
Board Chair
Prairieaction Foundation

Our Board


Lisa Broda, Ph.D


Advocate for Children and Youth Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK


Rod McKendrick

Vice Chair

Interpersonal Violence Specialist, Saskatchewan Ministry of Justice
Regina, SK


Elizabeth Murray


Winnipeg, MB


Diane Koenig


BComm(Hons), MBA, CPA, CMA


Marlene Bertrand, C.M., O.M.

Board Member

Domestic Violence Expert
Winnipeg, MB


Greg Preston

Board Member

Preston Consulting Inc.
Calgary, AB


Heather Salloum BA, BEd, MA

Board Member

Private Secretary and Executive Director, Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan
Regina, SK

Prairieaction Foundation greatly appreciates the support it receives from the founders and honourary patrons:


  • Margaret Newall, L.L.D., C.M., Chair Emerita
  • Carolynne Boivin
  • The Honourable Senator Sharon Carstairs, P.C.
  • Sheila O’Brien, C. M
  • Ora Zabloski

Honourary Patrons

  • Her Honour the Honourable Salma Lakhani AOE, B.Sc., Lieutenant Governor of Alberta
  • His Honour the Honourable Russ Mirasty, Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan
  • Her Honour the Honourable Janice C. Filmon, C.M., O.M., Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

Apply for Funding

Learn more about the application process for funding through our three areas of focus: Research Grants, Education & Awareness Grants, and Youth Leadership Awards.

Apply Now